Below is an overview of the different Retention Labels:
- Retention Labels allow you to control how long an email is retained.
- Your default mailbox retention will be applied to email as it is received instead of waiting 45 days.
- Depending on your division/program, your default mailbox retention will be 2 years or 7 years.
- You will not be able to change the default retention for the following folders:
- Sent Items
- Deleted Items
- If you do not change the retention policy, your folders will retain the default policy and emails within the folders will be deleted after the specified period of time.
- You may apply retention to a specific email or by moving it to a folder with a specified retention. You may set retention on:
- An individual Email
- A folder
- A group of Emails
- A subfolder
Incoming emails will display a retention period that is your default policy.
- The only way to delete an email is for it to reach its retention timeframe.
- Do not hit “Delete”. Instead, move it to a 45 day folder to let it
To learn more about Retention Policies, click here to be directed to the Vault Retention Policy Tips page.